Meng Fong Award

The Meng Fong Award


This annual award was created in 2003 in memory of Dr Meng Chung Fong. 

A Club member for 7 years, Meng was a keen badminton player and an active participant and assistant in many Club activities, both social and competitive. Meng was diagnosed with cancer late 2002 and, despite failing health, continued to support the club until passing away in May 2003 at the age of 23.

Though not an exceptional player, his enthusiasm, friendliness, consistent good humour, selflessness, sportsmanship and team spirit was greatly admired within the Club as well as the wider badminton community

Meng truly epitomised the values and qualities the Sturt Badminton Club aims to foster through this Award.

The Award

The Meng Fong Memorial Award is an award designed to acknowledge the Sturt Badminton Club member who demonstrates any, some or all of the following qualities during the calendar year:

  • good sportsmanship
  • courtesy on and off court
  • assistance to the Club and its members
  • team spirit
  • enthusiasm
  • dedication


Any financial Club member can nominate any other financial Club member (excluding current Committee members) for the Award.

Nomination forms will be available at Club practice venues or from Club Committee members. Nominations must be made between 1 November and 28 February. Nominations will be judged by the Club Committee and the Award will be presented at the Annual General Meeting.

Meng Fong Award Recipients

2016:  Ly Ming
2014:  Richard Yin
2013:  Margot Strelan
2012:  Andrew Reed

2011:  Daniel Reed
2010:   Simon Yeo
2009:  Sokhan Chap
2008:  Lina Choo
2007:  Boo-Hin Khoo
2006:  Kevin Conlon
2005:  Pauline Arthur
2004:  Adam Douglas
2003:  David Lim